The second chemo

Originally post around 29th May 2014

Well I have survived my second chemo and once again it involved a trip to a & e and more antibiotics. The only difference this time was that I wasn’t admitted thank goodness and according to the nurse, it isn’t appropriate to skip out of a & e with glee (shame really I was so happy to be able to go home).

On Wednesday I was due to have my third chemo (the halfway point) however the blood tests I had done came back that my blood counts were not high enough for me to safely have the chemo and given that the only other times I have had chemo I have ended up on antibiotics. I have explained to them that it is down to my children, but apparently there is nothing they can give the children to stop them from getting ill. So I am back in on Monday morning for another blood test (oh the joys) to see if I can have chemo in the afternoon.

There are some signs that the chemo is taking its toll on me. My arm, the one with all the holes in (last time I was cannulated it took 4 attempts), has started to get very sore from one of the drugs that I have to take. This is apparently perfectly normal (which is good to hear in some respects but also a pain in the backside when you are the one who has to put up with it).

So next week, I have 2 planned trips to the hospital. It sounds daft but that is actually a good week, considering they are both on the same day (I’ll be lost when the day comes when I only have to go to hospital every 3 months). However, 5 days after my chemo I will be having boosters to help with my blood count which means I have a lovely district nurse coming to visit me every day for 8 days to give them to me.

I have also had a bit of a mad moment and agreed to do Race for Life this year. Fortunately for me, I don’t have to run it (nothing to do with my inability to run, honest) due to my pelvic and hip bones.

Leave a Reply

