I’m having a bad, bad day

WARNING- THIS POST COULD BE QUITE UPSETTING FOR SOME BUT I WOULD LIKE TO REMAIN HONEST WITH YOU ABOUT WHAT I AM GOING THROUGH

After yesterday success & having a lovely evening with Tom watching a film. My temperature started to spike. It went down quickly enough and I thought I would see how I was in the morning.

This morning I felt awful, very tired and weak. The nurse came round and seeing that I was unwell, asked me to take my temperature. It was 38.4, the trigger temp is 38 so once she had given me my injection I was advised to go to a&e.

When I arrived at a&e I could barely walk. I felt so weak. Fortunately I have my neutropenic card which means i can go through quickly. It doesn’t necessarily mean I get seen quicker but I don’t have to sit in the waiting room.

I then had “cannula roulette” where myself & the nurses have to guess how many times it’ll take them to put the cannula in. Today was 3 attempts. Once they had done that they took bloods to see how I was doing.

The bloods weren’t good and the doctor confirmed I was neutropenic (white blood count was 0.7 and they would like it at least 2). This means sadly I am stuck here and I’m not sure how long for.

It is soul destroying to hear you have to be admitted. I felt really good yesterday and now today this. I really just want to be home with my babies whether I’m well enough to play or not. Just hearing them giggle or say daft things really brighten up my day.

I’ll keep you all up to date on how I’m getting on, hopefully I’ll be home soon.

2 thoughts on “I’m having a bad, bad day

  1. Thank you for sharing your journey. I’m a cancer patient too and there is nothing worse than ending back in hospital. I know the feeling so well, we always have to deal with the unexpected. Keep strong and keep writing. 😄

    Like

Leave a Reply

