It’s all just a little bit of history repeating

Well it’s been nearly a week since I last posted & I was hoping I would be able to put on something on about how well I’m doing post chemo. However, after making sure I rested plenty & took it easy while I recovered from my last chemo, there were 2 things I had not added to the equation, MY CHILDREN. My beautiful, lurgy carrying children. I often wonder how children find it hard to share toys & sweets but can quite easily share mud pies, snot & germs, but I’m digressing slightly.

Yesterday, I woke up feeling better then I had for a few days & was starting to feel as though I’d got over the worse of the side effects but as the morning wore on I began to feel very tired & my hips & knees were aching. I took my temperature & it was 37.7 (not a particularly great start). I thought that if I could just have some lunch & a drink I should feel better. Once I’d had them, I checked again, it was now 38.4. With this in mind I thought I’d go & lie down to see if that helped. It did to a point but not enough. To spare the boring details, I’ll admit, I did drag it out as long as I could but I had to face reality. I could only walk holding onto something & even standing up was exhausting. It was time to head to a&e.

When I arrived it was very different to my previous trips (let’s be honest, I’ve had a lot of experience). For starters, I was allowed to wait in the waiting room (normally I’m rushed off behind the scenes in case of germs) & it seemed a lot quieter. I was moved to a room quite quickly & then it was time for my favourite game “cannula roulette”. After trying explain to the doctor the best place to cannulate me & 3 attempts, it was in.

It was then another waiting game to be told the inevitable, “you are neutropenic & you will need to stay in”. I was gutted to say the least. I didn’t want to stay in & it was why I had tried to put it off as long as I could before.

So here I am, on the ward for another few days. Hopefully though, this will be the last time for hopefully a very long time.

IMG_3966.JPG

2 thoughts on “It’s all just a little bit of history repeating

  1. Glad to see you still taking photographs … perhaps you could do some research on hospital photography? 😛 Seriously though, rest up, do as you’re told and I have fingers and toes crossed for you that you’ll be out again soon!! Dave x

    Like

Leave a Reply

