A picture really does say a thousand words

One of the apps on my phone is Timehop. I love looking back over the years & mostly it is about my children. Yesterday, however, it brought up a photo of me from 7 years ago. I’ll be the first to admit I really liked the photo (not a normal occurrence) so I happily shared it, commenting on how slim I was & about my hair. Little did I realise how much I’d changed & the more I thought about it, the worse I felt.

Seven years ago I was 23 years old, I’d just started a relationship with my now husband, I was a size 8 & I had lovely long hair. Fast forward to today & I’m now a size 12, my hair has gone & I have very little energy to do things. I feel awful. The worse part is I don’t feel like the person my hubby fell in love with.

I decided to talk about it with my hubby. With tears in my eyes, I told him how I felt after seeing this photo. His response was lovely. He told me about how much we had both changed during our time together & the only way his feelings for me had changed was that they had become stronger. He then reconfirmed what a Facebook friend had said earlier, that I’d finished the horrible treatment & that my hair is already starting to come back & when I have more energy, I can exercise more & lose the weight if I want.

It’s funny how one photo can stir so many emotions, both good & bad. I’m just glad, looking back, the one thing has stayed the same throughout the past 7 years, my wonderful hubby

IMG_4439.JPG

Leave a Reply

